Past Photos

BrooksMcFadden-SelfPortraitMy name is Brooks McFadden and I enjoy photography like Ella Fitzgerald, a singer nicknamed Queen of Jazz likes her music. She once said, “The only thing better than singing is more singing.”

Growing up in Rexburg, Idaho I learned in high school principles of lighting and portraiture. On top of that I’ve begun to dabble more in landscape and product photography. In high school I saw photography based on the value of light and how “cool” it looked, but now I see the impact of the message can send to the viewer.

I originally studied business and switched to Communications with an emphasis Video Production, but I found myself back into photography studying Communications with an emphasis in Visual Communication.

Here’s some photos I’ve taken over the past few years. These range from weddings and portraits to product photography. I hope to improve in portraiture with weddings and getting more into macro and landscape photography.

BrooksMcFadden-Musician

I went through a musician phase getting shots of people with their instruments. Funny thing, half the time they couldn’t play the instrument. In this case the guitarist could though!

BrooksMcFadden-Singer

I took this photo for the Comm 130 class during Fall 2015. I hadn’t used off camera flash for over two years and it felt good to get back in the saddle.

BrooksMcFadden-Portrait

A practice shoot to get back into shooting portraits. I love portraiture and missed taking high school senior style shots.

BrooksMcFadden-Burberry

Some nights I stay up photographing whatever I find in my room. When I lit this I couldnt find something low enough to hold the flash except for one of my shoes. It was the first time I attempted to photograph something like this and it was fun to figure out what worked with reflectors and such.

BrooksMcFadden-Wedding

This wedding took place only 6 days before Christmas and I loved the back light we used for this shot. I had my friend hold the light stand to keep it steady above the stage. This wedding just might be my favorite one yet!

BrooksMcFadden-xylitol

I traveled to Utah for a two day shoot for a company called Epic Dental. We took lifestyle portrait shots with the product and some lifestyle of just the product. The window in the kitchen lit up the whole room, but we used a silver reflector to light up the front of the product more.

Leave a comment