3 Month Photo Winner

Winner: Indian in the Book

1/80 sec f/1.6 ISO 160 50 mm 6-3-16 1:52 p.m. Bannack, Montana
1/80 sec
f/1.6
ISO 160
50 mm
6-3-16
1:52 p.m.
Bannack, Montana

I photographed and composited a conceptual photo about 4 years ago. It was about time I made another. Amidst the other photos I’ve done I felt like this was something I did that came from me for the sake of expression. Other photos of mine have served the purpose to please a client, friend or news outlet. It’s sometimes nice to take a photo because you want to take a photo.

It’s funny, because I hadn’t planned for the final result. I wanted to capture a story of Bannack, Montana and never could think of one until after. I wondered what could be coming out of the book. I remembered the backlighting of the girl dressed as a Native American. I placed it on top of the book image, shrunk the placed image and applied a mask to erase enough of the image to make it look like the girl was coming out of the book. In the end, it was all to tell a story and let the audience decided what happens next.

Two images used in Composite

Brooks McFadden Photography-0872 Brooks McFadden Photography-1071

 

Leave a comment